Stan Bond Memorial Scholarship

The Stan Bond Memorial Scholarship of $500 will be awarded for the 2020–21 school year to a student residing in the Western Townships of Kane County (see map) who will be attending an accredited 2- or 4-year college or a private high school.


The scholarship will be awarded based on a 500-word essay on “Capitalism vs Socialism.”

Our Founding Fathers sought liberty and personal freedoms — freedom from government intrusion – when establishing the principles of their new nation. Free markets were part of what it meant to be free, as did the right to own land and personal property. Although the Founders believed in economic liberty, they acknowledged that government still had a limited role to play, such as ensuring the trustworthiness of the goods and services being offered, and the responsibility to protect the rights of all to participate in the free market system. Today there is a growing desire by some to abandon this system and instead adopt the system of socialism, whereby there is no privately owned property, but instead, a system whereby the production and dispersal of goods/services is shared by the group.


Deadline: Submissions must be received by June 14, 2020, at 11:59 pm


Students who live in the Kane County townships of Hampshire, Rutland, Burlington, Plato, Virgil, Kaneville, Blackberry, Big Rock and Sugar Grove.

How to Apply

• Download the scholarship application.

• Write a 500-word essay on “What Freedom of Speech Means To Me”

• Submit materials to or to Western Kane County Republican

Organization, Attn: Scholarship Committee, PO Box 782, Sugar Grove, IL 60554

The winner will be notified in July. Funds will be distributed directly to the winner’s school.


© 2020 Western Kane County Republican Organization.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle